Leaders Outline Plan of Action for Coming 4 Years

On March 5, more than 18,578 Republican voters went to the polls in East Baton Rouge Parish and elected 17 members of the East Baton Rouge Republican Parish Executive Committee, which is established by state law to govern the party at the parish level. The turnout of 38.3 percent was the highest in parish history for PEC elections.

Members of the committee were sworn in at Baton Rouge City Hall on the evening of Monday, March 14 with family and friends in attendance.

Committee members reelected former Rep. Woody Jenkins as parish Republican chairman, school board member Connie Bernard as vice chairman, and former Sen. Dan Richey as treasurer.  Ruth Flores Ward, a newly-elected committee member, was chosen secretary.  Sen. Dan Claitor was appointed to the five-member Executive of the PEC.

Others who took office were:

•Jerry Arbour

•Mike Chittom

•Ryan Cross

•Richie Edmonds

•Jason Engen

•Tommy French

•Gene Guffey

•Jay Lindsey

•Scott McKnight

•Central Mayor Jr. Shelton

•Barbara Thomas

Committee member John Coghlan will be sworn in at a later date.

In his remarks to the committee, Jenkins outlined a plan of action for the PEC, which will increase voter registration and turnout, develop precinct organizations, and a database of donors, volunteers, and sign locations. Jenkins said the new Republican headquarters located at 711 Jefferson Hwy. should be used as a base of operations and the party should help plant Teen-Age Republican, Young Republican, and College Republicans clubs.

For more information, go to www.CapitalRepublican.com or email woodyjenkins@hotmail.com.

Twitter Digg Delicious Stumbleupon Technorati Facebook Email

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!