How EBR Legislators Voted on Key Issues

During the current session of the Louisiana Legislature, the House has voted on three controversial bills
— HB 71 sanctuary cities (passed 63-32), HB 676 protections of historic monuments (passed 65-31) and
HB 832 a $5.5 billion increase in state gasoline taxes (Ways & Means Committee only so far, passed 9-7).
On sanctuary cities and monuments, East Baton Rouge legislators voted down party lines. Voting Yes for both bills were Republican Reps. Steve Carter, Rick Edmonds, Franklin Foil, Kenny Havard, Valarie Hodges, and Barry Ivey.
Voting No on both bills were Democratic Reps. Barbara Carpenter, Ted James, Edmond Jordan, C. Denise Marcelle, and Pat Smith.
Only members of the House Ways & Means Committee have voted so far on the 17 cents-a-gallon increase in the gas tax. All three members from EBR voted for the tax: Reps. Paula Davis and Barry Ivey (both R) and Ted James (D).

Twitter Digg Delicious Stumbleupon Technorati Facebook Email

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!